Authority members

richard_bean jpg

Mr Richard Bean, Acting Chairman

Appointed Deputy Chairman 14 October 2010 for five years
Re-appointed until 13 October 2017

Richard Bean commenced as Acting Chairman of the Australian Communications and Media Authority in February 2016.

During his career, Richard has worked in a variety of senior roles in Australia’s media and communications industries. Before joining the ACMA, he was general counsel and company secretary at Unwired Group Limited, a listed wireless broadband infrastructure owner, spectrum licensee and ISP. He had previously held positions responsible for the legal and business affairs side of free-to-air television broadcaster Network Ten’s programming activities, and practised as a commercial, media and litigation lawyer at national law firm Blake Dawson Waldron (now Ashurst).

Richard holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from the University of Sydney, and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of New South Wales.

JamesCameron jpgMr James Cameron, Acting Deputy Chairman

Appointed 5 August 2013 for five years as Part-time member

Appointed 9 July 2015 to 4 August 2018 as Full-time member

Appointed 24 February 2016 to 30 June 2017 as Acting Deputy Chairman

Appointed 23 May 2017 to 30 September 2017 as Acting Deputy Chairman

James Cameron has over 20 years Australian Government public policy experience, including senior executive roles in the telecommunications, radiocommunications, broadcasting and digital economy fields. James has held executive positions managing government policies and programs supporting Australia’s arts and sports sectors and, immediately prior to joining the ACMA, was Chief Executive Officer of the National Water Commission.

James has also represented government agencies in Parliament, in the media, at conferences and internationally.

Rosemary SinclairMrs Rosemary Sinclair, Part-time Member

Appointed 5 August 2013 for five years

Rosemary Sinclair is CEO of Energy Consumers Australia, a company established by COAG Energy Ministers. Rosemary was a Member of the Telecommunications Universal Service Management Agency and Chair of the Regional Telecommunications Inquiry 2011-2012. Rosemary was CEO of the Australian Telecommunications Users Group and Director of Strategic Development at the Australian Broadcasting Corporation. 

AnitaJacoby jpgMs Anita Jacoby, Part-time Member

Appointed 5 August 2013 for five years

Anita Jacoby is a broadcast executive and company director with more than twenty-five years’ experience in media and communications. A creative with a background as a multi-award winning television, current affairs and film producer. Anita has created hundreds of hours of original content across almost all genres and for every free-to-air network and Foxtel. Most recently, she was Managing Director of ITV Studios Australia, responsible for the local operations of this global company. 

Prior to ITV, Anita managed Zapruder’s other films for a decade alongside Andrew Denton. Widely regarded as one of Australia’s most creative independent production companies, Zapruder’s created original programs including Enough Rope, The Gruen Transfer, Elders, Hungry Beast and David Tench Tonight. She has also held various senior production roles on many TV shows including 60 Minutes, Sunday, Witness, LAWS, and Today.

Anita’s work has been recognised with six AFI’s/AACTA’s, a Logie and various other industry awards. She is currently on the National Advisory Board of Women in Media and has been a non-executive director on a number of NFP Boards including headspace and Arts Law Centre Australia.

To contact an Authority member, please contact the Authority secretariat.

Last updated: 31 May 2017

Most commented

Most read

Back to top